Brief History

Healthy Ideas, Healthy Returns (“HIHR”) was set up early 2016 as an initiative of eight Dutch University Medical Centres, the Hubrecht Institute and the Netherlands Cancer Institute to jointly present their biomedical-oriented spin-offs as investment opportunities to an audience of investors and entrepreneurs.
Gradually other institutes within the Netherlands – in particular a large part of the general and technical universities – joined this initiative and thereby widened the scope of the investment opportunities to Human Health in the broadest sense.
Early 2019, the main Flemish knowledge institutes as well as the University of Liège stepped on board. They were followed by other Walloon and Luxembourg PRO’s in summer 2019.

By combining the main PRO’s of these three countries, HIHR has followed the wish of investors and is now steadily growing into a Benelux-wide academic venture forum.

Healthy Ideas, Healthy Returns unites all major biomedical research organizations in the Benelux (28 institutions). Our events are attended by all early stage Life Science Venture Capital funds and family offices in the region and the initiative is supported by J&J Innovation and INKEF Capital. Check here all participating institutions, funds and companies and the growing list of projects that have presented themselves via HIHR throughout the years.

Core group members

With the growing number of PRO’s that contribute to HIHR, a larger organization committee for future HIHR events became desirable. To this extend a core group has been set up to address the long-term sustainability of our initiative, as well as financing options and other strategic issues.

The following people have currently accepted a seat in the core group:
Roel Bulthuis, INKEF Capital
Dominic De Groote, University Ghent
Filip Goossens, PMV – chair
Joris Heus, Amsterdam UMC
Annick Houbrechts, Interface Entreprises, University of Liège
Clemens Ostrowicz, University of Luxembourg
Bram Perdu, KU Leuven Research & Development
Oscar Schoots, Utrecht Holdings
Frank van de Ven, Technical University Eindhoven

Past core group members are:
Paul Van Dun, KU Leuven Research & Development
Koen Verhoef, Netherlands Cancer Institute

Selection Committee members

Projects will be pre-selected by a relevant advisory committee to assure quality and to maximise impact. The selection committee assesses the nominated spin-offs, classifies the nominations into pitches and reviews the presentation of selected Spin-offs.

As per July 2021 the selection committee consists of the following members:
Daisy Flamez, University of Ghent
Louise Hoppel, Radboud UMC
Annick Houbrechts, Interface Entreprises, University of Liège
Clemens Ostrowicz, University Luxembourg, Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine (LCSB)
Bram Perdu, KU Leuven Research & Development Spin-off and Innovation – chair selection cie

Past members
Rudi Cuyvers, KU Leuven Research & Development Spin-off and Innovation
Shobhit Dhawan, Oncode Oncology Bridge Fund
Aard Groen, University of Groningen Centre of Entrepreneurship
Jasper Keyman, Erasmus MC (University of Rotterdam)
Thijs van den Munckhof, UNIIQ / University of Leiden
Griet VanPoucke, VIB
Henri Theunissen, Brightlands (University of Maastricht)


The event organisation, general management and support of the core group and selection committee is taken care of by Claar-els van Delft, Riverside Project Management.

For any inquiries on HIHR please contact or by mobile phone +31 6 2848 0549.